Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft

Urban Age

"City Transformations"

12th Urban Age Conference in Rio de Janeiro, 24-25 October 2013

Organised by LSE Cities at the London School of Economics and Political Science and Deutsche Bank's Alfred Herrhausen Society, the 2013 conference investigated the impact of large-scale urban development on the social, economic, political and physical make-up of cities.
This year's conference was held in Rio de Janeiro. Like no other city in the world right now, the six million citizens of this pulsing metropolis are feeling the transformational effect of two mega sporting events on their everyday city life - the 2014 FIFA World Cup and the 2016 Summer Olympics. For the Olympics alone, Brazil's second-largest city has submitted an investment plan of roughly €11 billion with the majority earmarked for improvements to the public infrastructure and for heightened security precautions.
bild rio Maria Silvia Bastos Marques, president of the Municipal Olympic Company, Rio de Janeiro© Marco Teixeira
The organisers of the annual Urban Age series invited more than 160 policy-makers, academics, urban designers, architects, and representatives of NGOs and local community groups to reflect together in this place of frenzied urban development. Speakers from all over the world and local representatives from Rio de Janeiro exchanged their experiences on the design, management and delivery of a number of projects that have had a positive impact on the transformation of the cities they live in. The conference brought together official representatives from Rio, Barcelona, London, Bogotá, Medellín, New York and other cities to discuss how large-scale projects can be designed to best effect and with citizen involvement.
bild rio The conference took place in the Itamaraty Palace, the former headquarters of the Ministry of External Relations of Brazil © Marco Teixeira
Gondel Rio Urban Age 2013 Cable car over the favelas of Rio de Janeiro© Tuca Viera
bild Podium discussion (left-right): Amanda Burden, Anthony Williams and Peter Eigen© Marco Teixeira
Conference highlights
New York City Planning Commissioner, Amanda Burden, argued that when developing space, it is essential not to lose sight of detail in the overall plan, and Enrique Peñalosa, former mayor of Bogotá, held a passionate speech in favour of introducing a public bus-based rapid transit system not only as a formidable symbol for democracy and equality in the city, but also as a cheap and environmentally friendly alternative to the underground network and private vehicles.  The award-winning author and Professor of Journalism, Suketu Mehta, said that while a city does not have to involve everyone, it should never exclude anyone. And Transparency International founder, Peter Eigen underlined the role that corruption and wasted public funds play in large-scale projects. 

In addition to investigating ongoing projects in Rio surrounding the Olympics site, the Bus Rapid Transit System and the favelas improvement programme, the conference also featured international projects. These included the Olympic Games and Legacy Project in London; the HafenCity and IBA initiatives in Hamburg; the waterfront redevelopments and urban improvements in New York City, Buenos Aires and Hong Kong; the regeneration of Dharavi and other projects in Mumbai; and the public transport initiatives in Bogotá, Medellín and Copenhagen.
In association with:
1
2
3
Media Partner:
4
AHG Search

The project database allows you to search the projects and topics at the Alfred Herrhausen Society

News

Urban Age 2013The twelfth conference of the series took place in Rio de Janeiro on October 24 and 25, 2013. This years topic "City Transformations" [more]

Projects
Europe Urban Age Denk ich an Deutschland Logo Foresight Trace Lab
Partners

An overview of our project partners. [more]

Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft

Urban Age

„City Transformations"

12. Urban Age-Konferenz in Rio de Janeiro, 24.-25. Oktober 2013

Die 12. Urban Age Konferenz, organisiert von LSE Cities und der Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft, widmete sich im olympischen Rio de Janeiro dem Einfluss von groß angelegten Stadtentwicklungsprojekten auf den sozialen, wirtschaftlichen, politischen und physischen Aufbau von Städten.
Cable car over Rio's favelas Seilbahn über den Favelas von Rio de Janeiro© Tuca Viera

Schauplatz der diesjährigen Konferenz war Rio de Janeiro. Die Bewohner der pulsierenden 6-Millionen-Metropole bekommen im Moment wie in keiner anderen Stadt der Welt die transformative Wirkung zweier Mega-Sportereignisse – der Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft 2014 und der olympischen Sommerspiele 2016 – auf ihren städtischen Alltag zu spüren. Allein für die Olympiade hat die zweitgrößte Stadt Brasiliens einen Investitionsplan für rund 11 Milliarden Euro vorgelegt, von dem der Großteil der Verbesserung der öffentlichen Infrastruktur und verstärkten Sicherheitsvorkehrungen zu Gute kommen soll.

Maria Silvia Bastos Marques Maria Silvia Bastos Marques, Präsidentin der Municipal Olympic Company, Rio de Janeiro© Marco Teixeira
Die Organisatoren der jährlichen Urban Age Reihe luden mehr als 160 Entscheidungsträger, Wissenschaftler, Stadtplaner, Architekten, sowie Vertreter von NGOs und Bürgergruppen zur gemeinsamen Reflexion in diesem Umfeld rasanter Stadtentwicklung ein. Redner aus der ganzen Welt und lokale Vertreter aus Rio de Janeiro tauschten Erfahrungen zur Planung, dem Management und der Durchführung von städtischen Transformationsmaßnahmen aus, die positive Auswirkungen auf ihre Heimatstädte haben. Die Konferenz brachte offizielle Repräsentanten aus Rio, Barcelona, London, Bogotá, Medellín, New York u. a. Städten zusammen, um darüber zu diskutieren wie Großprojekte effektiv und partizipativ gestaltet werden können.
Urban Transformations location Die Konferenz fand im Palácio do Itamaraty statt, dem ehemaligen Hauptsitz des Brasilianischen Außenministeriums © Marco Teixeira
Paneldiskussion Podiumsdiskussion, v.l.: Amanda Burden, Anthony Williams und Peter Eigen© Marco Teixeira
Konferenz Highlights
New Yorks Kommissarin für Stadtentwicklung, Amanda Burden, argumentierte dass in der Raumplanung das große Ganze nicht auf Kosten der Liebe zum Detail gehen darf, und Enrique Peñalosa, ehemaliger Bürgermeister von Bogotá, hielt ein leidenschaftliches Plädoyer für die Einführung von öffentlichen Schnellbus-Linien nicht nur als überragendes Symbol für Demokratie und Gleichberechtigung in der Stadt, sondern auch als kostengünstige und umweltfreundliche Alternative zu U-Bahnen-Linien und Privatfahrzeugen. Der preisgekrönte Autor und Journalismusprofessor Suketu Mehta stellte fest, dass „eine Stadt zwar nicht jedermann einbeziehen muss, aber auch niemanden ausschließen darf“, während Transparency International-Gründer Peter Eigen die Rolle von Korruption und Verschwendung öffentlicher Gelder bei Großprojekten hervorhob.
Zusätzlich zu der Auseinandersetzung mit laufenden Projekten um die Olympiastätten in Rio, dem Bus Rapid Transit System und dem Programm zur Verbesserung der Lebensqualität in Favelas, präsentierte die Konferenz auch internationale Projekte. Darunter das Olympic Games and Legacy Projekt in London, die Initiativen HafenCity und IBA in Hamburg, das Projekt zum Wiederaufbau des Hafengebiets und der Stadtverbesserung in New York City, Buenos Aires und Hong Kong, die Regeneration von Dharavi und weitere Projekte in Mumbai sowie Initiativen im öffentlichen Verkehrssektor in Bogotá, Medellín und Kopenhagen.
In Zusammenarbeit mit:
1
2
3
Medienpartner:
4
AHG Suche

Die Projektdatenbank bietet Ihnen einen umfassenden Überblick über alle Projekte der Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft

Aktuelles

Urban Age 2013"CITY TRANSFORMATIONS" - Unter diesem Titel fand am 24. und 25. Oktober in Rio de Janeiro die 12. Auflage der Konferenzreihe statt. [mehr]

Projekte
Europe Urban Age Denk ich an Deutschland Logo Foresight Trace Lab
Partner

Hier finden Sie eine Übersicht über unsere Projektpartner. [mehr]