Network

Board of Trustees

Dr Paul Achleitner (Chairman)

Paul Achleitner

Born 1956 in Linz, Austria, Paul Achleitner was educated at the University of St. Gallen (HSG) and Harvard Business School (HBS). He holds a Ph.D. from HSG and an honorary professorship from WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management.

After four years at Bain & Co. in Boston he joined Goldman Sachs in 1988 where he served in New York, London and Frankfurt in various capacities, since 1994 as a partner of the firm. Between 2000 and 2012 Paul Achleitner was CFO of Allianz in Munich.

Besides chairing the Supervisory Board of Deutsche Bank Paul Achleitner serves on the Supervisory Board of Bayer and Daimler as well as on the Shareholders’ Committee of Henkel. He is Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Alfred Herrhausen Society, Chairman of the German Government Commission of Capital Markets Experts and Co-Chairman of the Hong Kong / Europe Business Council. Paul Achleitner is a member of the International Advisory Board of Allianz, the Board of Trustees of the Brookings Institution, the European Financial Services Round Table, the European Advisory Board of the Harvard Business School and the Advisory Council of the Munich Security Conference.

Prof. Dr Henrik Enderlein (Deputy Chairman)

AHG-Kuratorium-Enderlein.jpg

Henrik Enderlein is Professor of Political Economy at the Hertie School of Governance. He holds degrees from Sciences Po, Paris, and Columbia University, New York. He prepared his PhD in Political Science at the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies in Cologne. From 2001-2003, he worked as an economist at the European Central Bank in Frankfurt before taking up a Junior Professorship in Economics at the Free University Berlin.

Henrik Enderlein's awards include the Max Planck Society's Otto-Hahn Medal for outstanding achievements by young scientists, a Fulbright Distinguished Chair at Duke University's Political Science Department in 2006-2007, and the Pierre Keller Visiting Professorship at Harvard Kennedy School in 2012-2013.

He joined the Hertie School of Governance as a member of the founding faculty in 2005 and served as Associate Dean from 2008-2012. His research is on economic policy-making, European monetary integration, fiscal federalism, financial markets and financial crises.

Prof. Dr h. c. Roland Berger

01_Portrait_Berger.jpg

Roland Berger is founder and since 2010 Honorary Chairman of Roland Berger GmbH in Munich. With 50 offices in 36 countries and 2,400 employees, the company is among the top 5 of global strategy consultancies for leading international manufacturing and services companies as well as public institutions.

Roland Berger is a member of several supervisory and advisory boards in national and international companies, foundations and organizations. He has been member of numerous expert commissions for the European Commission as well as national- and state-level governments.

Roland Berger is Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Roland Berger Foundation that he founded. The Roland Berger Foundation is dedicated to global human rights and human dignity as well as to enhance equality of opportunity. It supports gifted children from socially disadvantaged families on their way to a university education. Since 2015 it supports unaccompanied young refugees in Germany.

Dr Joana Breidenbach

02_Portrait_Breidenbach.jpg

Joana Breidenbach is author and co-founder of the donation platform betterplace.org. She studied anthropology, art history and Eastern European history at the Ludwig-Maximilian-University in Munich and graduated with a Ph.D. in cultural anthropology. Her academic career included stints at the University of California, Berkeley as well as the University College London.

In cooperation with fellow scientists, Joana Breidenbach has conducted research on a wide range of topics and wrote articles and books such as “Tanz der Kulturen” and “Seeing Culture Everywhere”. Her research interests are cultural globalisation, migration and tourism.

The idea for betterplace.org emerged during a five-month world trip with her family. Since then, betterplace.org has become the largest online platform for social projects. In 2010, Joana Breidenbach founded the betterplace.lab, a Think and Do Tank that examines the interfaces between digital media and public welfare. Since summer 2015, she has withdrawn from the operating business of gut.org gAG and is active on the supervisory board.

Joana Breidenabch is also involved at the ReDI School for Digital Integration which gives refugees access to IT competences and to the Berlin start-up scene. She is further involved as mini-investor in various mission-driven start-ups.

Prof. Dr José Manuel Castillo Oléa

03_Portrait_Castillo.jpg

José Castillo is a Mexican architect. He holds a degree in architecture from the Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico City as well as a Masters and a Doctor of Design degree from Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design. He is the principal along Saidee Springall of a|911, an architectural practice based in Mexico City. Their work includes, cultural, institutional, housing, mobility projects and mixed-use master plans in various cities in Mexico and was recently recognized as the most visionary architectural firm in Mexico by Obras Magazine.

Furthermore, the firm earned the Bronze Medal of the Holcim Awards for Sustainable Construction Latin America (2011), Emerging Voices Award from the Architectural League of New York (2012), and the Audi Urban Future Award (2014).

Castillo is a professor of Urbanism at CENTRO University in Mexico and a visiting design critic at Harvard University's Graduate School of Design. He has served as a juror on several competitions, including most recently for Bloomberg’s Philanthropies Mayor’s Challenge Latin America. Recently Castillo was selected as a recipient of the 2017 Richard Rogers Fellowship, a new residency program at the Wimbledon House in London and a modern masterpiece designed by world-renowned British architect Richard Rogers. Castillo is member of the advisory board of LSE Cities and of the editorial board of Arquine.

Dr Mathias Döpfner

09_Dr._Mathias_Doepfner.jpg

Mathias Döpfner is Chairman and CEO of the German media group Axel Springer SE in Berlin. Axel Springer is the leading digital publisher in Europe and is active in more than 40 countries. Publishing brands include BILD, DIE WELT and BUSINESS INSIDER.

Since Mathias became CEO in 2002, revenues from digital activities increased from EUR 117m to EUR 2bn with EBITDA from digital business increasing from EUR -12m to EUR 429m. Worldwide digital audience expanded to more than 200 million users. 

Mathias is a member of the Board of Directors of Time Warner, Inc., Warner Music Group, and Vodafone Group.

Prof. Dr Viktor Mayer-Schönberger

05_Portrait_Mayer-Schoenberger.jpg

Viktor Mayer-Schönberger is Professor of Internet Governance and Regulation at the University of Oxford. He further holds a Master of Economics from the London School of Economics and several law degrees, including one from Harvard where he also spent ten years on the faculty of the Kennedy School of Government.

Viktor Mayer-Schönberger’s current research focuses on the role of information in a networked economy. His most recent book “Big Data” (with Kenn Cukier) was an international bestseller with millions of copies sold,  and his book “Delete: The Virtue of Forgetting in the Digital Age” won several Awards.

As a native Austrian, he founded Ikarus Software in 1986, a company focusing on data security, and developed Virus Utilities, which became the best-selling Austrian software product.
In addition to his research activities, Viktor Mayer-Schönberger is on the advisory boards of corporations and organizations around the world, including Microsoft and the World Economic Forum.

Verena Pausder

06_Portrait_Pausder.jpg

Verena Pausder is the founder and managing director of Fox & Sheep GmbH, a company which develops and distributes apps for preschoolers worldwide. In 2016 Fox & Sheep also started opening up digital garages („Digitalwerkstätten“) for kids, teaching them to code, use 3D printers and learn all about robotics. Verenas goal is to have a “Digitalwerkstatt” in every larger city in Germany by the end of 2018.

In February 2016 Verena Pausder was nominated Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum in Davos. She has also been awarded winner of the McKinsey "CEO of the Future" competition and winner of the Victress Award in the “Role Model” category. Verena Pausder has initiated the non-profit initiative Startup Teens and serves as a member of the Ashoka Support Network. She works as a columnist for the journal Wirtschaftswoche and blogs at www.verena-pausder.de.

She already came in contact with software for children as CEO of goodbeans GmbH, a company developing web-based online worlds for children, and at the Bertelsmann platform scoyo.de, an online learning portal for children. Verena Pausder studied Business Administration at the University of St. Gallen in Switzerland.

Alex Perry

07_Portrait_Perry(sw).jpg

Alex Perry is an author and correspondent. His books, which include Falling Off The Edge (2008), Lifeblood (2011) and The Rift (2015), are available in several languages. He has written e-books on subjects such as Boko Haram, South Sudan, cocaine smuggling in West Africa, immigration and an extended profile of Tony Blair. Alex is now working on a number of film and TV projects, while his latest book The Good Mothers about the Calabrian mafia is due to be published worldwide in 2018.

From 1999 until 2014 Alex lived and worked in Asia, the Middle East and Africa, reporting from more than 100 countries and covering more than 30 wars as a correspondent for TIME, Newsweek and others. His work has won a number of awards and his investigation into Boko Haram’s use of beheadings was requested as evidence by the International Criminal Court in The Hague.

At times, he has been recognised in other ways. In 2002, the Indian government tried to deport him when he questioned the state of the Prime Minister’s health. In 2007 Alex was held in jail in Zimbabwe for five days for working without accreditation before being convicted of being a “determined and resourceful journalist.”

Prof. Dr Martin R. Stuchtey

08_Portrait_Stuchtey.jpg

Martin Stuchtey is the Founder and Managing Partner of SYSTEMIQ Ltd., a company that develops new markets and assets in the sustainability space.

He has worked at McKinsey for 20 years, most recently as Director of the Center for Business and Environment. In 2006, Martin Stuchtey co-founded McKinsey's Sustainability Practice, working with numerous corporate, government and social sector clients on the challenges of climate change, water scarcity, ocean degradation and resource depletion at large. He is an initiator of the 2030 Water Resources Group, a long-time strategic advisor to the World Economic Forum and the author of “A Good Disruption – Redefining Growth in the Twenty-first Century”.

Martin Stuchtey served as a company commander in the German Alpine forces and worked as geologist in Southern Africa. He holds a BSc. Hons.-degree in economic geology/mineralogy from Rhodes University (South Africa), a Masters in business economics from WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management (Germany), an MBA from Lancaster University (UK) and a Ph.D. in regional economics from the Technical University of Dresden.

He is a professor for Resource Strategy and Management at Innsbruck University. He, his wife and their six children live at Lake Starnberg in Germany and Anras, Tirol.

Kuratorium

Dr. Paul Achleitner (Vorsitzender)

Paul Achleitner
Seit dem 31. Mai 2012 ist Paul Achleitner (geboren 1956 in Linz, Österreich) Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats der Deutschen Bank AG.

Achleitner studierte an der Universität St. Gallen (HSG), wo er promovierte, und der Harvard Business School. Seit 2001 ist Achleitner Honorarprofessor für Finanzierung an der WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management. Nach vier Jahren bei der Managementberatung Bain & Co in Boston wechselte Achleitner 1988 zur Investmentbank Goldman Sachs & Co. Dort war er nach Stationen in New York und London von 1994 bis 1999 Resident Partner in Frankfurt. In den Jahren 2000 bis 2012 war Achleitner Finanzvorstand der Allianz SE.

Neben dem Vorsitz des Aufsichtsrats der Deutschen Bank AG nimmt Achleitner Aufsichtsratsmandate bei Bayer AG und Daimler AG wahr, zudem ist er Mitglied im Gesellschafterausschuss der Henkel AG & Co. KGaA. Achleitner ist Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums der Alfred Herrhausen-Gesellschaft, Vorsitzender der Börsensachverständigenkommission (BSK) und Co-Vorsitzender des Hongkong / Europe Business Council. Außerdem ist er Mitglied des Internationalen Beraterkreises der Allianz, des Europäischen Beraterkreises der Harvard Business School, des Board of Trustees of the Brookings Institution sowie des Beraterkreises der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz.

Prof. Dr. Henrik Enderlein (stellvertretender Vorsitzender)

AHG-Kuratorium-Enderlein.jpg

Henrik Enderlein ist Professor für politische Ökonomie und Direktor des Jacques Delors Institut an der Hertie School of Governance in Berlin. Nach dem Studium der Politik- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften an Sciences Po in Paris und an der Columbia University in New York promovierte er in Politikwissenschaft am Max-Planck-Institut für Gesellschaftsforschung in Köln. Von 2001 bis 2003 war er als Ökonom bei der Europäischen Zentralbank in Frankfurt beschäftigt, ehe er 2003 Juniorprofessor für Wirtschaftswissenschaften an der Freien Universität Berlin wurde.

2005 wurde er als Professor in die Gründungsfakultät der Hertie School berufen und war dort von 2008-2012 Vize-Dekan. 2006-2007 war Henrik Enderlein Fulbright Ehrenprofessor an der Duke University in den USA und 2012-2013 Pierre Keller Gastprofessor an der Harvard Kennedy School. Henrik Enderlein ist Träger der Otto-Hahn-Medaille der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft.

Prof. Dr. h. c. Roland Berger

01_Portrait_Berger.jpg

Roland Berger ist Gründer und seit 2010 Honorary Chairman der Roland Berger GmbH in München. Das Unternehmen zählt heute mit 50 Büros in 36 Ländern und 2.400 Mitarbeitern zu den Top 5 der weltweit größten Strategieberatungen und berät international führende Industrie- und Dienstleistungsunternehmen sowie öffentliche Institutionen.

Roland Berger ist Mitglied verschiedener Aufsichts- und Beiräte von nationalen und internationalen Unternehmen, Stiftungen und Organisationen. Außerdem wurde er in zahlreiche Sachverständigenkommissionen der EU-Kommission sowie von Bundes- und Landesregierungen berufen.

Roland Berger ist Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums der von ihm gegründeten Roland Berger Stiftung. Die Roland Berger Stiftung ist dem weltweiten Schutz der Menschenwürde und der Menschenrechte verpflichtet und fördert deutschlandweit begabte Kinder und Jugendliche aus sozial benachteiligten Familien auf ihrem Bildungsweg von der Grundschule bis zum Abitur. Seit 2015 setzt sich die Stiftung zudem für unbegleitete, minderjährige Flüchtlinge in Deutschland ein. 

Dr. Joana Breidenbach

02_Portrait_Breidenbach.jpg

Joana Breidenbach ist Autorin und Mitgründerin der Spendenplattform betterplace.org. Sie studierte Völkerkunde, Kunstgeschichte und Osteuropäische Geschichte an der Ludwig-Maximilian-Universität in München und erhielt hier auch ihren Doktor in Kulturanthropologie. Darüber hinaus hat sie an der University of California, Berkeley und dem University College London studiert.

In Kooperation mit anderen Wissenschaftlern hat Dr. Breidenbach zu diversen Themen geforscht und zahlreiche Artikel und Bücher, wie etwa „Tanz der Kulturen“ und „Seeing Culture Everywhere“, verfasst. Ihre Themenschwerpunkte beinhalten kulturelle Globalisierung, Migration und Tourismus.

Die Idee zu betterplace.org entstand während einer fünf-monatigen Weltreise mit ihrer Familie im Jahr 2006. Seitdem ist betterplace.org zur größten deutschen Online Fundraising Plattform für soziale Projekte geworden. 2010 gründete Joana Breidenbach das betterplace.lab, ein Think und Do Tank der die Schnittstellen zwischen digitalen Medien und Gemeinwohl untersucht. Seit Sommer 2015 hat sich Joana Breidenbach aus dem operativen Geschäft der gut.org gAG zurückgezogen und ist im Aufsichtsrat tätig.

Joana Breidenbach ist zudem in der ReDi School for Digital Integration engagiert, welche Geflüchteten Zugang zu IT-Kompetenzen und der Berliner Start-up Szene ermöglicht und beteiligt sich als Mini-Investorin an verschiedenen mission-driven Startups.

Prof. Dr. José Manuel Castillo Oléa

03_Portrait_Castillo.jpg

José Castillo ist ein mexikanischer Architekt. Er studierte Architektur an der Universidad Iberoamericana in Mexico City und absolvierte ein Master-Studium an der Graduate School of Design der Harvard University, wo er auch in Design promovierte. Zusammen mit Saidee Springall leitet er arquitectura 911sc, ein Architektenbüro in Mexico City. Das Tätigkeitsprofil umfasst kulturelle Bauten, Gewerbe- und Wohnungsbau sowie Städtebau und Mischnutzungsplanungen in verschiedenen Städten Mexikos. Kürzlich wurde das Büro vom Obras Magazin als eine der visionärsten Architekturbüros in Mexiko ausgezeichnet.

Das Team um Jose Castillo und a | 911 erhielt außerdem die Bronzemedaille bei den Holcim Awards für nachhaltige Bauweise (2011), den Emerging Voices Award von der Architectural Leage New York (2012) und gewann den Audi Urban Future Award in Berlin (2014).

José Castillo ist Professor für Urbanistik an der CENTRO Universität in Mexiko und Gastkritiker an der Graduate School of Design der Harvard University. Als Juror war er bei mehreren Wettbewerben tätig, zuletzt bei Bloombergs Philanthropies Mayor‘s Challenge Latin America. Vor kurzem wurde er für das Richard Rogers Fellowship 2017 ausgewählt, ein Aufenthaltsprogramm im Wibledon House in London und ein modernes Meisterwerk des weltberühmten britischen Architekten Richard Rogers. José Castillo ist Mitglied des Beratungsgremiums am Forschungsinstitut LSE Cities und Mitglied des Redaktionsbeirats von Arqine. 

Dr. Mathias Döpfner

09_Dr._Mathias_Doepfner.jpg

Mathias Döpfner ist seit 2002 Vorstandsvorsitzender der Axel Springer SE, dem führenden digitalen Verlag in Europa. Zu den publizistischen Marken von Axel Springer gehören BILD, DIE WELT und BUSINESS INSIDER.

Unter Döpfners Führung sind die Digitalumsätze von EUR 117 Mio. auf EUR 2 Mrd. und das EBITDA resultierend aus dem Digitalgeschäft von EUR -12 Mio. auf EUR 429 Mio. gestiegen. Die digitalen Angebote erreichen weltweit mehr als 200 Mio. Leser und Nutzer.

Mathias Döpfner ist Mitglied in den Aufsichtsräten von Time Warner, Inc., der Warner Music Group und der Vodafone Group. 

Prof. Dr. Viktor Mayer-Schönberger

05_Portrait_Mayer-Schoenberger.jpg

Viktor Mayer-Schönberger ist Professor für Internet-Governance und Regulierung an der Universität Oxford. Darüber hinaus hält er einen Master of Economics von der London School of Economics und absolvierte mehrere Jurastudien, unter anderem in Harvard, wo er auch zehn Jahre der Fakultät der Harvard Kennedy School of Government angehörte.

Im Fokus seiner Forschung steht die Rolle von Informationen in einer vernetzten Wirtschaft. Sein Buch „Big Data“ (mit Kenn Cukier) war ein internationaler Bestseller und wurde mehrere Millionen Mal verkauft, das Buch „Delete: The Virtue of Forgetting in the Digital Age“ wurde mit mehreren Preisen ausgezeichnet und in vier Sprachen übersetzt.

Als gebürtiger Österreicher gründete Viktor Mayer-Schönberger 1986 Ikarus Software, ein Unternehmen mit Schwerpunkt auf Datensicherheit, und entwickelte Virenprogramme, welche sich zur meistverkauften Software Österreichs entwickelten.

Neben seiner Forschung ist Viktor Mayer-Schönberger weltweit in Gremien von Unternehmen und Organisationen, wie Microsoft und dem World Economic Forum, vertreten. 

Verena Pausder

06_Portrait_Pausder.jpg

Verena Pausder ist Gründerin und Geschäftsführerin der Fox & Sheep GmbH, welche Apps für Kinder im Vorschulalter entwickelt und weltweit vertreibt. Im Februar 2016 hat Fox & Sheep zusammen mit HABA die erste physische Digitalwerkstatt in Berlin eröffnet, in der Kinder aller Altersgruppen programmieren, Robotics und Animationsfilm lernen können. Im Januar und Februar 2017 folgten die nächsten in Berlin und München. Das Ziel ist es bis Ende 2018 eine Digitalwerkstatt in jeder großen Stadt Deutschlands zu eröffnen.

Sie wurde 2016 zum Young Global Leader des Weltwirtschaftsforums ernannt und wurde u. a. als Gewinnerin des McKinsey-Wettbewerbs „CEO of the future“ und als Gewinnerin des Victress Awards in der Kategorie „Role Model“ ausgezeichnet. Verena Pausder ist Initiatorin der non-profit-Initiative Startup Teens und Mitglied im Ashoka Support Network. Für die Wirtschaftswoche ist sie als Kolumnistin tätig und bloggt daneben auch unter www.verena-pausder.de.

Mit Software für Kinder kam Sie bereits als Geschäftsführerin der goodbeans GmbH, einem Unternehmen zur Entwicklung von webbasierten Online-Welten für Kinder, sowie bei der Bertelsmann-Plattform scoyo.de, einem Online-Lernportal für Kinder, in Berührung. Verena Pausder studierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der Universität St. Gallen in der Schweiz.

Alex Perry

07_Portrait_Perry(sw).jpg

Alex Perry ist Autor und Korrespondent. Er schrieb unter anderem die Bücher „Falling Off The Edge” (2008), „Lifeblood” (2011) und „The Rift” (2015), welche in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt wurden. Seine elektronisch publizierten Werke handeln u. a. von Themen wie Boko Haram, dem Südsudan, Kokainschmuggel in Westafrika, Einwanderung und einem Profil von Tony Blair. Momentan arbeitet Alex Perry an einer Reihe von Film- und Fernsehprojekten. Sein aktuelles Buch „The Good Mothers“ über die kalabrische Mafia wird weltweit im Jahr 2018 veröffentlicht.

Von 1999 bis 2014 lebte und arbeitete Alex Perry in Asien, im Nahen Osten und in Afrika. Als Korrespondent für TIME, Newsweek und andere amerikanische und britischen Medien berichtete er aus mehr als über 100 Ländern und über mehr als 30 Kriege. Seine Arbeit hat zahlreiche Preise gewonnen und seine Investigationsergebnisse zu den Enthauptungen der Boko Haram wurden als Beweismittel des Internationalen Strafgerichtshofs in Den Haag angefragt.

Darüber hinaus machte Alex Perry auf andere Weise auf sich aufmerksam. Im Jahr 2002 versuchte ihn beispielsweise die indische Regierung zu deportieren, als er den Gesundheitszustand des Premierministers in Frage stellte. Im Jahre 2007 wurde er für fünf Tage im Gefängnis von Simbabwe gefangen gehalten, weil er ohne Akkreditierung arbeitete, bevor man ihn als zielstrebigen und findigen Journalisten verurteilte.

Prof. Dr. Martin R. Stuchtey

08_Portrait_Stuchtey.jpg

Martin Stuchtey ist Gründer und geschäftsführender Gesellschafter der SYSTEMIQ GmbH, einem Unternehmen, das sich mit nachhaltigen Zukunftsmärkten beschäftigt.

Er blickt auf 20 Jahre Beratungserfahrung bei McKinsey zurück, wo er zuletzt als Direktor des Zentrums für Wirtschaft und Umwelt tätig war. Im Jahr 2006 gründete Martin Stuchtey den Nachhaltigkeitsbereich von McKinsey, wo er mit zahlreichen Kunden aus Unternehmen, Regierungen und dem sozialen Sektor an den Herausforderungen des Klimawandels, der Wasserknappheit, der Meeresdegradation und der Ressourcenverknappung arbeitete. Er ist Initiator der 2030 Water Resources Group, langjähriger strategischer Berater des World Economic Forum und Autor des Buchs „A Good Disruption – Redefining Growth in the Twenty-first Century”.

Martin Stuchtey diente als Kompaniechef der deutschen Gebirgsjäger und arbeitete als Geologe bei Bergbauprojekten in Südafrika. Er absolvierte einen Bachelor mit Auszeichnung in Wirtschaftsgeologie/Mineralogie an der Rhodes University (Südafrika), einen Master in Betriebswirtschaftslehre an der WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management, einen MBA an der Lancaster University (UK) und promovierte an der Technischen Universität Dresden im Bereich Regionalökonomie.

Martin Stuchtey ist Professor für nachhaltiges Ressourcenmanagement an der Universität Innsbruck. Er lebt mit seiner Frau und seinen sechs Kindern am Starnberger See und in Anras in Tirol.