Cities

What is Urban Age?

Cities are our future. Half of mankind now lives in cities and has done since the beginning of the new millennium. Outside Europe, cities are attracting even more people. Urban living promises work, and it promises participation in societal development. But how can these growing cities deliver on this promise? Urban Age is a global research program set up by the Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft and LSE Cities, an international research center at the London School of Economics and Political Science. It has been investigating these and other questions about the future of cities since 2005.

Why Urban Age?

The population shift towards cities seems both unstoppable and uncontrollable. Infrastructures cannot keep pace with this kind of growth, affecting traffic levels and transport as well as the supply of fresh water, education or medical facilities and affordable living space. Urban planning offers very effective measures to develop and shape life in cities for a better future, especially if it interacts with other disciplines. Successful urban planning projects on different levels demonstrate this time and time again. Urban Age aims to initiate and implement such processes, and to support them with analytic knowledge. This is in line with the aim of the Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft to promote a free and open society that enables people to participate in the social and economic aspects of tomorrow’s cities.

How does Urban Age work?

What measurable impact can a research program have on the development of megacities? Urban Age has many different answers to this question.

With numerous events, Urban Age has started to build an ever-growing global network of protagonists – architects and urban planners as well as the relevant municipal institutions and administrative authorities. One such event is the Urban Age conference, which has been taking place since 2005 and has been staged in New York, Shanghai, Mexico City, Johannesburg, Berlin, Mumbai, São Paolo, Istanbul, Chicago, Hong Kong, London, Rio de Janeiro, Delhi and, as part of the 2016 Biennale di Architettura, in Venice. True to its motto “Think global, act local”, Urban Age always involves local actors.

Urban Age has a number of widely received publications and impressive graphics, which “Urban Age Analytics” uses to help visualise urban development. Both are tangible results of the work Urban Age does. The Urban Age website and its social media activities provide at-a-glance information on the work and results of Urban Age.

Urban Age’s message is getting through: many of its core topics have been vocalised either directly or indirectly by influential global debates, for example the development of the Post-2015 Development Agenda of the UN with the ‘Sustainable Development Goals’, the New Urban Agenda in Habitat III, or the ‘Human Settlements’ section of the current report by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).

More up-to-date information about the Urban Age program and its activities can be found on this website or here.

Urban Age Partner

Our partner in the Urban Age program is LSE Cities. LSE Cities is an international research center at the London School of Economics and Political Science, which is active in research, teaching, initiating and implementing outreach activities in London and other cities worldwide. More information on LSE Cities can be found here: http://LSECities.net

Upcoming Activities in our Project Area „Cities“

This website uses cookies in order to improve user experience. If you close this box or continue browsing, we will assume you agree with this. For more information about the cookies we use or to find out how you can disable cookies, click here.

Stadt

Was ist Urban Age?

Städten gehört die Zukunft: Seit der Jahrtausendwende lebt die Hälfte der Menschheit in Städten. Auf den anderen Kontinenten ist die urbane Anziehungskraft noch stärker als in Europa. Das Leben in den Metropolen verspricht Arbeit und Teilhabe an gesellschaftlicher Entwicklung. Doch wie können die wachsenden Städte ihre Versprechen halten? Urban Age ist ein internationales Forschungsprogramm der Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft und LSE Cities, einem internationalen Forschungszentrum an der London School of Economics and Political Science, das seit 2005 diese und andere Fragen zur Zukunft von Städten untersucht.

Warum Urban Age?

Der Zuzug in die Metropolen scheint unaufhaltsam und unkontrollierbar. Infrastrukturen können sich nicht adäquat mitentwickeln, das gilt für Verkehr und Transport sowie für die Versorgung der Bevölkerung mit sauberem Wasser, Bildungs- und medizinischen Einrichtungen oder schlicht mit Wohnraum. Gleichzeitig bietet die Stadtplanung, insbesondere im Zusammenwirken mit anderen Disziplinen, sehr wirkungsvolle Möglichkeiten, das städtische Leben für die Zukunft zu gestalten und zu formen. Dies stellen erfolgreiche Städteplanungen oder Projekte auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen immer wieder unter Beweis. Urban Age möchte solche Gestaltungsprozesse anstoßen, umsetzen und mit analytischem Wissen stützen. Dies geschieht im Sinne der Alfred Herrhausen Gesellschaft mit dem Ziel, eine freie und offene Gesellschaft zu fördern, die die soziale und ökonomische Teilhabe am Leben in den Zukunftsmetropolen nachhaltig ermöglicht.

Wie arbeitet Urban Age?

Wie kann ein Forschungsprogramm ganz konkret auf die Entwicklung von Megametropolen einwirken? Diese Frage beantwortet Urban Age auf unterschiedliche Art.

Mit einer Vielzahl von Veranstaltungen begründete Urban Age ein stetig wachsendes, globales Netzwerk aus Schlüsselpersonen in Architektur und Stadtplanung und den relevanten Einrichtungen und Verwaltungsorganen in Städten. Hervorzuheben ist die Urban-Age-Konferenz, die seit 2005 bereits in New York, Schanghai, Mexiko-Stadt, Johannesburg, Berlin, Mumbai, São Paulo, Istanbul, Chicago, Hongkong, London, Rio de Janeiro, Delhi und 2016 im Rahmen der Architekturbiennale in Venedig stattfand. Dem Grundsatz „Think global, act local“ folgend, bezieht Urban Age stets lokale Akteure mit ein.

Sichtbare Ergebnisse von Urban Age sind viel beachtete Publikationen und die eindrücklichen Visualisierungen, mit denen „Urban Age Analytics“ urbane Entwicklungen darstellt. Die Urban Age-Webseite und die Aktivität in den sozialen Medien bieten einen schnellen Zugang zur Arbeit und zu den Ergebnissen des Forschungsprogramms.

Im Frühjahr 2019 startete das zweijährige „Task Force“-Programm: In Zusammenarbeit zwischen Urban Age und lokalen Fachleuten sollen hierin, zunächst beispielhaft in der Task Force Addis Abeba, auf wissenschaftlicher Basis Handlungsempfehlungen für eine verbesserte Urbanisierung und Stadtentwicklung erarbeitet werden. Im März 2020 startet die Urban Age Task Force Athen. Als Partnerschaft zwischen der Stadt Athen und dem Urban Age Programm werden zentrale Stadtentwicklungsthemen der griechischen Hauptstadt bearbeitet.

Die Stimme von Urban Age findet Gehör: Viele wichtige Botschaften sind direkt oder indirekt in globale Debatten eingegangen, wie zum Beispiel in die Entwicklung der Post-2015 Development Agenda der UN mit den ‚Sustainable Development Goals‘, mit der New Urban Agenda aus Habitat III, oder mit dem Abschnitt ‚Human Settlements‘ im aktuellen Bericht des Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).

Aktuelle Informationen zum Urban-Age-Programm finden Sie auf dieser Webseite.

Urban Age Partner

Unser Partner im Urban Age Programm ist LSE Cities. Das internationale Forschungszentrum an der London School of Economics and Political Science forscht, lehrt und moderiert öffentliche Diskurse.

Mehr Informationen zu LSE Cities finden Sie hier.

Aktuelle Aktivitäten im Arbeitsfeld „Stadt“

Diese Website verwendet Cookies, um die Nutzerfreundlichkeit zu verbessern. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Website stimmen Sie dem zu. Weitere Infos zu Cookies und deren Deaktivierung finden Sie hier.